Hi all,
I am starting this thread based on feedback shared on the recent community post about release notifications. Several of you mentioned unwelcome surprises when tasks are added and automatically show up for cloned roles. (tagging folks who mentioned this:
Carolyn Stevens ,
Karintha Marshall ,
Petra Hall )
When we released major navigation changes in 2018 we finally uncovered what we thought was the root cause to this annoying behavior that had been around for years. I am dismayed to hear this might still be happening. Is it urban legend? Or do you have recent examples? (rough timeframe, standard role, task)
Primarily, I am interested in feedback on problems with cloned roles. For example, with our
standard roles, if we introduce a new task, we do sometimes consider making it available by default so that the new feature is discoverable. However, in ALL cases I would not expect that new feature to be turned on by default for
cloned roles.
Secondarily, if you think turning on a brand new task by default for our standard roles is a bad idea, I'd be curious to hear ideas on how and to whom we should give in-product notifications about new tasks so that new features are discovered.
Thirdly, I am aware there are still some roles that get functionality by default that just plain can't be configured to turn off via a task. I understand this is troublesome when you clone roles for limited purposes. This is something we still hope to improve but will get a chance for sure as we introduce permissions on the new model shared with NXT.
Thanks for always being engaged and keeping us moving forward!
Janet